button busting: cranberry cookies

So, I apparently ran over a nail this morning picking up breakfast for Miss Thang who has decided only fried chicken for breakfast would do.

So I got it fixed while visiting my daddy & my favorite neighbor boy, Vinnie.

In the process of my tire-fixing, neighbor boy visiting errand, I promised people cookies & soup.

So now I have two hours to bake cookies, warm up homemade frozen soup, & cook dinner! Yikes!

So here’s what I’m gonna do.

Cranberry cookies with a mandarin orange glaze, warm up tomato soup, & cook candied yams & herb lemon chicken. Wish me luck!

Cranberry cookies:

1 1/2 c sugar
2 large eggs
2 tbsp caro light syrup
1 stick salted sweet cream butter
1 scant tsp vanilla

2 c all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

1/2 c dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350F.

First, cream the sugar, butter, vanilla & caro syrup. Once smooth-ish, add in the eggs one at a time, beating for about 1 minute between.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, & salt.

Slowly add flour mixture to sugar mixture, beating in between.

Once the cookie dough is all purdy & smooth, stir in the cranberries. Yum!

Now, grease a cookie sheet/place a silicon baking mat on cookie sheet.

Spoon onto cookie sheet & flatten slightly with fingers.

Bake for 12-15 until delicious – I mean finished.

Mandarin orange glaze time!

What you’ll need:

3 c powdered sugar
3 tbsp milk
Juice & zest of 2 mandarin oranges

Whisk all ingredients together & glaze those cookies! 🙂

I’ll add pics of the mise en place & the finished results later 😉

IMG_3007.JPG

IMG_2991.JPG

IMG_2993.JPG

IMG_2992.JPG

Leave a Reply

