one ingredient banana chips, touching on my hearing loss, & my cutlery preference

If you know me personally, you know that I recently lost all of my hearing in my left ear & all but 5% in my right.

Which means, yes I can hear out of my right ear, however I can’t distinguish what I’m hearing because everything sounds like Fozzy Bear or the teacher & parents in Charlie Brown.

So, that being said. I have been working with DARS & with doctors to figure out why I lost my hearing, & what the best course of action for me personally is.

I’m lucky. I studied ASL. I’ve been a part of the deaf community since I was 5, in some way, shape, or form.

So I’m not being thrown to the wolves so to speak.

I have deaf friends & family, hard of hearing friends & family, & Deaf friends.

Yes, there is a difference between Deaf, deaf, & hard of hearing. You can read about that here if you’re curious.

Anyways, I’m lucky that I’ve been immersed in this culture, which is now my culture :), since I was knee-high.

Because it’s not a huge difference for me personally. ASL to me, is like riding a bike. Plus, have you ever heard of muscle memory?

So it’s just taking practice & watching others sign to remember every word I used to know. πŸ˜‰

Tuesday I went to an audiologist on the other side of town that works with DARSΒ & they are telling me I need CI’s in both ears. If you don’t know what a CI is, that is a Choclear Implant, for when your cochlea don’t work. I won’t go into detail because I’m not an expert but you can read a bit about it here.

Anyways, I said no thanks! I’ll take some hearing aids instead. So now we wait, for my super awesome DARS counselor, Ms. Melinda, to help me in this next course of action that is best for me. πŸ™‚

Now, for my one ingredient banana chips.

Yes. Just one single ingredient.

& that ingredient is bananas (in case you didn’t catch that).

Here’s what you’ll need:

SDC10476

3 bananas, sliced very thin

Preheat to 325F.

Line your cookie sheet/spray with non-stick spray.

Slice your bananas thin.

About 1/6-1/8″ of an inch thin.

SDC10477

If you’re looking into knives to invest in, I recommend Mercer Cutlery They do not know me, they are not paying me to say that. I’m speaking from experience. πŸ™‚ They fit well in my hand, don’t weigh me down when I am chopping fast, & are not so light that they frequently fly out of my hand. That would be bad. πŸ˜›

Okay back to the banana chips.

Line the thinly sliced in a single layer on your greased/silicone lined baking sheet.

SDC10478

They remind me of sand dollars.

No? They only remind me of that?

Oh well. πŸ™‚

Bake for about 30 minutes until crisp.

SDC10482

Store in your choice of air-tight container. πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “one ingredient banana chips, touching on my hearing loss, & my cutlery preference

  1. Hi Reagan! Thanks for stopping by my blog; I stopped by to see yours, and to my surprise saw your story! Through sudden hearing loss, I lost all but 5% in one ear, but also found out when testing was done, I had diminished hearing in the other that I had never noticed. I’m glad you have such good support there and I appreciated the links. I now know that I’m “deaf.” as I don’t know anyone else in my situation.

    It was such a shock for me, and, well, still is, so I know the amount of courage it takes to face the world! Watching Netflix with closed caption has REALLY improved my lip reading skills. I don’t have much trouble if there’s no background noise and one person slowly talks to me while I look at them, but I do have to do a lot of “pretending” in other situations. Like cashiers I assume are saying thank you who I just say “your welcome” to until I walk away and they follow me until someone waves me down or they catch up. I was able to train my dog to nudge me when the alarm clock rings (nor totally reliable) & get me when someone is at the door, we’re working on the stove buzzer, now.

    Looking forward to reading more from you! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

