spicy beet chips, planning a day-trip, & a possible short hiatus

So,

I’ve told y’all I’m obsessed with beets right?

Yes?

Cool beans.

& I’ve been trying to eat healthier & exercise.

So, I’ve been experimenting with non-potato chips.

Which, you’ve hopefully noticed.

So far I’m satisfied with what I’ve come up with.

& I recently went to the indo-pak grocery to buy some spices & scored some garam marsala really cheap.

So, spicy beet chips were born.

Also, I’m super stoked to be planning a trip to Swede FarmΒ which is a goat dairy.

They have a TON of products that I need in my life! So I reached out to them & I’ll be making a day-trip out there in the next few weeks & buying like.. everything. πŸ™‚

Did you click on the link for their product list? If not, you totally should. Seriously YUM!

I’m SO excited.

If you aren’t aware yet of goat dairy’s health benefits & you’re curious, you can read a bit about it hereΒ & here. πŸ™‚

& if you’re like me & soak up all the information about every random subject you can, you can read a bit about the process at Swede FarmΒ here.

Oh, & we are probably going to renovate our kitchen. So I’m going to do my best to cook while I can & schedule recipes (most days at least) & what not while the renovation is happening so y’all can keep enjoying yummy food. πŸ˜‰

So, just a heads up on that.

But I PINKY PROMISE I will do my best. πŸ™‚

Okay.

Are you totally starving now after all of that?

Because I totally am…

But then again, as much as I love to cook & eat, I’m like ALWAYS starving.

hehehe. πŸ˜›

So here’s what you’ll need:

spicy beet chips | reagantherecipehoarder.com

6-8 small beets, or 4-5 large
1 1/2 tbsp EVOO
2 tbsp garam marsala (if you don’t have access to an indo-pak grocery buy it here!)
a pinch of kosher salt

Preheat your oven to 325f.

Peel & slice your beets super thin. But be careful if you prefer to use a wood cutting board because it WILL stain!

SDC10487

So, I totally accidentally sliced a few too thick & they aren’t like chips.. they are kinda like spicy beet baked fries lol.

So make sure to slice them about 1/6-1/8″ thin.

Or you’ll end up with spicy beet baked fries. which wouldn’t be totally gross. & actually might be a bit yummy..

New to-do: spicy beet baked fries. I’ll let y’all know how that turns out πŸ˜‰

Toss your beets in a mixing bowl, add your EVOO & garam marsala.

& stir it all around with a rubber spatula to coat.

Then spray your baking sheet with non-stick or line with a silicone baking mat.

Layer your beet slices in a single layer on the sprayed/lined baking sheet.

spicy beet chips | reagantherecipehoarder.com

They’re a little messy because they are beets!

That’s okay though.

I have a future plan for beet juice. πŸ˜‰

Just wait.

Bake until crisp & enjoy with some lassi, dipped in yogurt, or with some golden milk (milk with turmeric & ginger). πŸ˜‰

Happy eating! πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “spicy beet chips, planning a day-trip, & a possible short hiatus

Leave a Reply

