green chips & a flashback to Thanksgivings past

I was adopted into a large family, on mama’s side.

Daddy’s side, he’s an only child like me but has cousins back home in Mobile.

But mama’s side.

I’ve got more cousins & second cousins & cousin in-laws than I can count.

I’m sure I’ve got some I haven’t met (yet).

So, growing up. Thansksgivings were spent crowded into Big Mama’s tiny dining room, all squished together & holding hands to say grace.

Big Mama is my mama’s mama. & really, everybody’s Big Mama. If you knew her, she was your Big Mama. & that’s the way she liked it.

big mama & granddaddy

^Big Mama & Granddaddy way back when.

Everybody in the family would come together, no matter what had transpired in the last 364 days, you walked into Big Mama’s house on Thanksgiving & it was a clean slate & we all loved each other again.

Even if you ripped off my barbie’s head, I loved you on Thanksgiving (& in a family as big as ours, headless barbies were a frequent occurrence).

We would all gather in, from down the street & out of state.

thanksgiving past

^ Thanksgiving in 2009 I believe.

Since Big Mama passed our house has kind of become the epicenter of the family.Which is (usually) a good thing hehe. 😉

The holidays always bring back happy memories of good food & good company, leaving me with warm fuzzies in my belly & a happy heart.

Enough of my ramblings I ‘spose.

Time for some green chips.

Yup, you read that right. Green chips.

Literally.

Here’s what you’ll need.

green chips | reagantherecipehoarder.com

3 c fresh kale, removed from stems & torn into bite size pieces
3 c fresh baby spinach, as is
1 tbsp EVOO
1 pinch of kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350F.

Toss it all into a large mixing bowl, using a rubber spatula to combine.

Line your baking sheet with a silicone baking mat or spray with non-stick.

Lay your greens in a single layer on your baking sheet & bake until crisp.

green chips | reagantherecipehoarder.com

*yield two full baking sheets of green chips

Happy snacking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

