family recipes: mamaw’s cornbread

This is a family recipe given to me by a friend I met through social media who I hold near & dear to my heart.

Her name is DeMorris & she loves to eat & cook as much as I do.

So we share recipes & ideas on substitutions.

Ms. DeMorris shared this recipe with me on July 25, 2013 & I use it regularly.

& that happened to be her Mamaw’s 102nd birthday. Funny.

Mamaw loves to cook just as much as DeMorris & myself do.

& my family & I have been blessed to have this fill up our bellies,over & over & over again.

Thank you so much DeMorris for sharing this absolutely amazing family recipe with me! 🙂

MAMAW’S CORNBREAD

½  Cup  Cornmeal

½  Cup  Flour

1 cup     Buttermilk

¼ tsp     Soda

¼ tsp     Salt

2 tsp      Baking Powder

1            egg

1 tsp      Sugar

1 tsp      oil in skillet —heat before adding ingredients

Cook in a pre heated oven @ 425 about 25 to 30 min. or until golden brown on top

I use a pre heated cast iron skillet.  #8 CI

Leave a Reply

