cold day cookin’: south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup

We got a cold front down here over Christmas.

& unfortunately that means my arthritis is flaring up.

So I went to my local south asian grocery & got a big bulk bag of dried ground turmeric.

If you didn’t know, turmeric is good for your joints – even my rheumatologist says so. 😉

When I remember to buy it, I use it a lot. But I’m quite forgetful.. 😦

The reason I go to a south asian grocery to buy my turmeric is because I can get a big ol’ bulk bag of it, 1.5 lbs for about $7.

I also get my lentils & garam marsala mix there, but if you aren’t able to find the garam marsala you can get it on amazon.

south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com

& on top of the arthritis, cold front = nasty flu & colds.

So I threw in a bunch of veggies into the soup too – eat your vitamins & all that jazz. 😉

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 c lentils, I used yellow (Swad Moong Dal Amati)
3 c packed fresh spinach
2 tbsp turmeric
2 tsp garam marsala – keep in mind this spice mixture tends to be spicy!
4 stalks celery, loosely chopped
1 large carrot, peeled, loosely chopped
1 small red onion, chopped

Toss your lentils into your DO, or large pot.

south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com

Cover with 2 1/2-3 inches of water.

Then chop your veggies,

south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com& add to the lentils.

Next, remove your spinach leaves from the stems – I buy mine in bunches on the stem & use the stems to compost – bagged spinach works too though!

Then, add the spinach leaves, followed by the spices.

south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com

south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com

Simmer with the lid on 45 minutes, & then with the lid off 10-15.

Serve hot!

south asian inspired vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com

*note: this soup will have a yellow tint – that’s from the turmeric. 🙂

My favorite thing about lentils is that you don’t have to soak them, & they cook FAST – perfect for quick & easy weeknight dinners!

*per serving: 89 calories, 16g carbs, 1g fat, 6g protein, 51g sodium, 1g sugar

Yield: 6 servings

PS – here’s a free recipe card printable!

south asian inspired lentil & vegetable soup | reagantherecipehoarder.com

Leave a Reply

