fried farmhouse eggs for a fast stick-to-your-ribs breakfast

I was able to run out past George Ranch to the Three Sister’s Farm farm stand this past Sunday.

I got some fresh eggs, some butter lettuce, kale, arugula, some gorgeous vibrant carrots, & a jar of honey. 🙂

& of course, I was super excited to make breakfast with those eggs today!

fried farm eggs | reagantherecipehoarder.com

I’m not sure if I’ve given y’all enough warning.

I’m completely obsessed with fresh vegetables, & farm-to-table meals. Yes, I’m in a crazy, delicious, love affair with pork belly.

But my obsession is farm-to-table meals. It’s thrilling, & all-consuming. 🙂

Small local farms are my favorite things.

My dad jokes that if I can find a farmer boy to marry I’m gone in a heart beat. But it’s actually true. 🙂

yield: 2-3 servings, depending how hungry y’all are

2 tbsp EVOO for frying
3 eggs, cage free farmhouse eggs if you can get ’em – TRUST ME, it’s worth the drive out of the suburbs to get ’em
1 small bell pepper, or 1/2 large, sliced thin – I used yellow
3/4 c sliced mushrooms
12 cherry tomatoes, sliced vertically
3 cloves garlic, minced – I’m a big fan of garlic, but you can scale back if you prefer

— Now it may look like there’s a whole bunch of ingredients in here, but trust me, the eggs are the star of the show. The flavors from the vegetables compliment the fresh eggs without overpowering them.

Heat the EVOO on low heat & add the tomatoes, bell pepper, mushrooms, & garlic.

Cover for 2 minutes.

Stir the vegetables into a pile & crack the eggs on top.

Cover for 7 minutes.

Serve hot. 🙂

Check out Three Sisters Farm here.

Leave a Reply

