caregiving chronicles: why i’m reading ‘tuesdays with morrie’ again

Do you know someone with dementia? Maybe you know someone who knows someone. Or someone who knows someone who knows someone.

It’s a difficult disease to say the least.

I’m on the outside looking in trying to understand but I can’t, & I probably won’t ever understand, what goes on in her mind.

But I want to make the best of the time we have left together, whether it’s days, weeks, months, years, I don’t know. & that’s not for me to know, God knows though. He put in my heart the patience & compassion to see this through. & I will with a smile on my face when I can manage one. & dammit I’m gonna try to keep her smiling until the end.

If you’ve never read ‘tuesdays with morrie’ by mitch albom you should. I truly believe with all of my heart that it will put everything into perspective for you. That’s why my copy is bent up, the pages are worn, & dog eared (don’t hate me).

This has been in my top 5 favorite books since I first read it – I was probably twelve or thirteen & going through a rough stage with my family, my school life, myself.

I’ve always been a bookworm. & when I found this book titled ‘tuesdays with morrie’, the spine an ugly awkward shade of brown, on the library shelf I said to myself ‘what a strange name for a book, I should read it’. & I’ve never been more right in my life.

As I sit here writing, I’m curled up in bed with my old dog. I’m still not sure how I can keep a smiling face when she asks me tomorrow who’s living in her house for the thousandth time.

I’ve started viewing the world coldly, jaded. & I need to check myself.

I’m rereading this book to put my life, my situation, back into perspective.

I’ve closed my worn copy of the book for the umpteenth time, only to pick it back up again in the morning. & when I finish it this round, it’ll go back on the shelf to be read again another day.

Have you ever read a book that has shaped your future even if you didn’t know it at the time?

Leave a Reply

